Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry


About the story

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, set during the Depression in Mississippi, is about the Logan family’s struggle against racism and social injustice. This strong, loving family isn’t just trying to hang on to their land, but to their integrity and dignity. Told from young Cassie’s perspective over the course of a year, it’s a story that has us sharing her outrage but cheering her courage in the face of hatred and violence. Through her family’s experiences and responses, she learns (and teaches us) the importance of standing up for what’s right.  

About the Explorer’s Guide

Experience Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry with your students in hands-on, meaningful ways! Your kids can run their fingers through the red Mississippi dust, learn some civil rights history, enjoy a farmer’s feast, make red-earth fields of real cotton blooms, create powerful art out of butter beans and burlap, write a missing scene from another point of view, trace Papa’s work-hunting route through the south, and so much more! 

LitWits Explorer’s Guides are private web pages that include creative and academic downloadables. This lesson planning resource is ideal for ages 8-12, but it’s highly adaptable. Scroll down to get more details and a free idea with template.



Product Description

From the LItWits Kit for ROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY by Mildred D. Taylor - LITWITSThe LitWits Explorer’s Guide for Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor

Everything in this “experience guide” comes from our unique sensory workshops on Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. It’s packed with hands-on ways to get into the characters’ shoes. When kids see, feel, hear, taste, smell, and DO what the characters did, they understand more. Better yet, they want to read more.

Explorer’s Guides are web pages packed with downloadables—templates, activity aids, academic handouts, and more. (Here’s a sample, for a different book.) Because our guides live online, we can link you to useful info and audiovisuals. And you’ll always have the very latest updates!

The LitWits Explorer’s Guide for Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry includes:

  • sensory prop suggestions, with photos
  • creative project and activity ideas, with photos
  • printable templates, excerpts, and activity prompts
  • takeaway topics, to fuel meaningful conversations
  • printable handouts for creative writing, the narrative arc, setting, and more
  • research and audiovisual links, for one-stop prep and homework help
  • great quotes from the book, where copyright allows

This guide is adaptable to a wide range of ages. (See the Ways to Use tab for classroom and homeschool uses.) We find 8-12-year-olds consistently “ready to LitWit,” but you know best what your kids are ready for, interested in, and capable of.

Common Core Alignment
The LitWits experience of this book is jam-packed with carefully integrated lessons — but they’re embedded in FUN, so kids don’t feel “taught.”  At a bare minimum, the use of this guide helps meet these Common Core goals:

THIRD GRADE Common Core Alignment
FOURTH GRADE Common Core Alignment
FIFTH GRADE Common Core Alignment
SIXTH GRADE Common Core Alignment

Please note that LitWits® is a registered trademark of LitWits Workshops, LLC.  All LitWits Explorer’s Guides are copyrighted and may be used for non-commercial educational purposes only.

Join our email list for product updates and teaching tips!


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *